User Groups FAQ
Using PIA & DPIA Automation, you can select a user group as a respondent or approver for an assessment. Leveraging user groups prevents you from selecting multiple users when launching assessments.
What happens when a user group assigned as approver or respondent is deleted?
Approver: The user group is removed from all assessments.
This happens regardless of assessment status (e.g., Active, Archived, Recycle Bin, etc.).
Respondent: If there is at least one other respondent assigned, the user group is removed from the assessment. If the deleted user group is the only assigned respondent, default approver of the organization becomes the respondent.
What happens when a user is assigned as an approver individually and is also assigned as an approver as part of a user group?
If the user is added as an approver and also belongs to the user group added as an approver to a given stage, any review by the user will mark both the individual and the user group assignments with their review responses.
What happens when a user is assigned as a respondent individually and is also assigned as a respondent as part of a user group?
If the user is added as a respondent and also belongs to the user group assigned as a respondent to a whole assessment or a section:
-
In the case of section assignment, when the user submits the section, the section is locked for further response.
-
In the case of full assessment assignment, when the user submits the assessment, the assessment moves to next stage.
How are activities tracked?
A user's name displays for any actions they take.
Example: If a user from a user group submits an assessment, the name of the user who submitted the assessment displays for the Submit activity.
If an assignment is given to a user group, the user group name displays for the assignment activity.
Example: If a user Group at stage X gets assigned as the approver, the applicable activity will show the user group name.
When one of the user from a user group approves a stage and then another user rejects the stage, the stage is considered as rejected.
How are approval timestamps tracked?
The timestamp will always display based on first approval or first rejection.
Scenario A
-
First approver approves. Approval timestamp is shown.
-
Second approver rejects. Rejection timestamp is shown.
-
Third approver approves. Rejection timestamp above is shown.
-
Fourth approver approves and bypasses all other approvals. Approval timestamp is shown.
Scenario B
-
First approver approves. Approval timestamp is shown.
-
Second approver approves. Approval from first user's timestamp is shown.
-
Third approver approves. Approval from first user's timestamp is shown.
-
Fourth approver rejects and bypasses all other approvals. Rejection timestamp is shown.